Erling Haaland named 2020 Golden Boy Award winner
(Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images)

Borussia Dortmund forward Erling Haaland has been rewarded for his incredible 2019/20 season by being named the 2020 Golden Boy winner.

The Golden Boy is awarded to the best player under the age of 21 across the European domestic top tiers – with previous winners including Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe.

Editor’s picks:

The prize was established by Tuttosport in 2003, and the Italian newspaper revealed that Haaland has won the 2020 edition of the award.

The 20-year-old enjoyed a stunning 2019/20 season, scoring a mouth-watering 44 goals in all competitions for RB Salzburg and Dortmund – joining the Bundesliga club in January for €20m.

From his 2019/20 goal tally, 16 came in just 18 appearances for Dortmund following his midseason move, and he has carried on from where he left off this term with 10 goals in 10 outings in all competitions.

Haaland won the prize ahead of a host talented youngsters around the continent. Barcelona teenager Ansu Fati came in second place and Bayern Munich full-back Alphonso Davies completed the top three.

Haaland’s Dortmund teammate Jadon Sancho – who was second to Mbappe in 2019 – was fourth, with Rennes sensation Eduardo Camavinga fifth.

Haaland and Sancho
Haaland and Sancho (Photo by Alexandre Simoes/Borussia Dortmund/Getty Images)

Juventus’ Dejan Kulusevski was the highest placed Serie A player in sixth, and Manchester City’s Phil Foden was flying the flag for the Premier League in seventh.

RB Salzburg midfielder Dominik Szoboszlai, Arsenal full-back Bukayo Saka and Real Madrid’s Vinicius Junior completed the top ten.

Manchester City’s Ferran Torres and Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood placed 11th and 12th respectively.

The list of previous winners is a star studded affair. Prior to Haaland, Atletico Madrid’s Félix was the most recent recipient of the award, while Juventus’ Matthijs de Ligt became the first defender to win the prize in 2018.

Raheem Sterling, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero are all also fellow previous winners.

FollowLike and Subscribe to WD Sportz for more football news and updates.

Leave a Comment below

Leave a Reply